The mission of the Smoky Mountain Counseling Association is to enhance the quality of life in Tennessee and society by promoting the development of professional counselors, advancing the counseling profession, and using the profession and practice of counseling to promote respect for human dignity and diversity.


The purposes of SMCA:
a) To unite in one organization all persons engaged or interested in any phase of counseling and developmental work in East Tennessee, including the counties of Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Monroe, Morgan, Roane, Scott, Sevier, and Union.
b) To maintain and improve professional standards in fields of counseling and development.
c) To encourage the development of counseling and development activities in the East Tennessee area.
d) To serve as an agency for information about counseling and development programs in the East Tennessee area and in the State of Tennessee.
e) To disseminate information and focus public attention on legislation affecting the counseling and development profession in the East Tennessee area and the State of Tennessee.
f) To provide opportunities for the professional growth of persons engaged in counseling and development in East Tennessee.
g) To publish a newsletter to inform the membership, to foster cohesiveness, and to further the goals and objectives of the organization.

SMCA Leadership:

  • President: Megan Herscher
  • President-elect: Nacole Gwathney
  • Secretary: Bailey Mays
  • Treasurer: Dana Quick
  • Membership Chair: Terry Sharp
  • Ethics Chair: Amy Kroninger
  • Policy Chair: Tracy Cagle
  • Social Media Chair: Rachael Marshall